Bradley University Skip repetative content
Attending Bradley Apply Online Student Life Our Community Visit Us A to Z Index Search Home
Bradley Hilltopics
Note Book

Winter 2007 • Volume 13, Issue 1

Bradley Chorale

Bradley’s 2006 Centurions: from
left, Jerry Hayden ’59, Anne Maple Fox ’63, Ron Maestri ’63 MA ’67, Joe Stowell ’50 MA ’56, and Ken Hinton ’69 MA ’71. They join 139 others in the Bradley University Centurion Society.

Five inducted into Bradley Centurion Society

At the October 26 Founder’s Day ceremony, five alumni were initiated into the Centurion Society. Founded in 1982, the award honors alumni who are national and international leaders in their fields and recognizes them for achievements in public life and their professions. As the Distinguished Alumnus Award recipient, Ron Maestri ’63 MA ’67 was named to the Centurion Society. In addition, the following alumni were inducted:

Jerry Hayden ’59, MBA in 1970 from Northwestern University; chairman, CEO and owner, Peacock Engineering Co., food packaging company with plants in Itasca, Geneva, and Carol Stream; founder/past president, Itasca Business Council; member, United Republican Fund of Illinois, World Presidents’ Organization; former board member, Illinois Manufacturing Association, Contact Packaging Association, Young Presidents’ Organization; Bradley University Athletics Hall of Fame, track team captain in 1959; held Bradley’s discus throw record for 17 years.

Anne Maple Fox ’63, CEO of the Central Illinois Chapter of the American Red Cross; serves on the boards of the Forest Park Foundation, Employer’s Association of Illinois, Comprehensive Bleeding Disorders Center; previously served on the Children’s Home Association of Illinois Board, Peoria Public Library Board, Junior League Board, United Way of Illinois, and the Bradley University National Alumni Association; was instrumental in establishing the Community Foundation of Central Illinois; received the Junior League Volunteer of the Year Award, the Peoria Area Chamber of Commerce Tom Connor Award for Volunteerism, the American Red Cross Tiffany Award for Employee Excellence, the Francis M. Krossa Professions Award, the Athena Award for Professional Women, and the 25 Women in Leadership Award.

Joe Stowell ’50 MA ’56; former men’s and women’s head basketball coach and professor of health and movement science, emeritus; began Bradley coaching career as assistant in 1956, coach from 1965 to 1981; conducted basketball clinics for over 35 years worldwide including Asia, South America, Europe, Africa; IBCA Hall of Fame, Bradley Athletics Hall of Fame, 1992 IBCA Buzzy O’Connor Award for Contributions to Illinois Basketball, 1973 Missouri Valley Conference Coach of the Year, 1973 NABC District 5 Coach of the Year, 1978 NABC Award of Merit, 1983 NABC Award of Honor, 2000 A.J. Robertson Award, 2004 Orville Nothdurft Lifetime Achievement Award; WMBD radio analyst for Bradley basketball broadcasts 1983 to the present.

Ken Hinton ’69 MA ’71; superintendent, Peoria Public School District 150; General Administrative Endorsement, Illinois State University; Superintendent’s Endorsement, Western Illinois University; actively involved in the United Way, Peoria Civic Federation, Hult Health Education Center, Vision 2020 Leadership Council, Mayor’s Task Force on Education, American Red Cross, Lakeview Museum, Children’s Hospital of Illinois Advisory Board; recipient, PHA Achievement Award for Community Service, African-American Hall of Fame Museum, Dr. Martin L. King Leadership Award, Jaycees Young Educator Award, Outstanding Educational Leader Award, South Side Businessmen Eagle Award, and the Center for the Prevention of Abuse Partners in Peace Award.