Bradley University  ::Attending Bradley :: Apply Online :: Student Life :: Our Community :: Visit Us :: A to Z :: Search :: Home

Bradley Hilltopics

Winter 2009 • Volume 15, Issue 1  



Professors receive Putnam, Rothberg awards

Several top faculty awards were announced on Founder’s Day. Recipients of the Putnam Award for Excellence in Teaching were Dr. Stacey Robertson, associate professor of history, and Dr. Amir Al-Khafaji, professor and chairman of the Department of Civil Engineering and Construction.

Robertson empowers students in the classroom by providing guidance and support and allowing students freedom in their individual work and research. Read more about her in the story, "In the field of history."

Al-Khafaji initiated the Global Explore Program for study abroad, the “Bridge Pals” program to teach grade school and high school students about engineering, and the Center of Emerging Technologies and Infrastructure to provide seminars and additional courses to enhance students’ exposure to their field of study.

Dr. Bob Jacobs, professor of communication, received the Samuel Rothberg Professional Excellence Award. Jacobs has won an Emmy award from the Chicago/Midwest chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences for outstanding editing, and a “Telly” Award. He has published two books.


Faculty honored on Founder's Day

The Caterpillar Inc. Faculty Award for Scholarship was given to Dr. Stephen Banning, assistant professor of communication. Banning is the guest editor of a special issue of the scholarly journal Mass Communications & Society, commemorating the 25th anniversary of a hypothesis that investigates the impact of media messages on consumers, a subject on which he is an authority.

Dr. Kevin Randall, assistant professor of family and consumer sciences and the first director of the C.C. Wheeler Institute for the Holistic Study of Family Well-Being, was selected for the Caterpillar Inc. Faculty Achievement Award for Teaching. In his first two years at Bradley, Randall received two Internet2 grants that allowed more than 140 students to interact with and learn from a world-renowned gerontologist.

Mary Jane Sterling, mathematics lecturer, received the 2008 Francis C. Mergen Award for Public Service. A tireless advocate for the community, Sterling has served as a member and in multiple leadership positions for the Kiwanis Club of Peoria. Twice she has been named Adviser of the Year as faculty adviser of the Bradley Circle K Club, a group for collegiate Kiwanians.

Visit our Web exclusives for a complete list of past recipients of each award.