Bradley University  ::Attending Bradley :: Apply Online :: Student Life :: Our Community :: Visit Us :: A to Z :: Search :: Home

Bradley Hilltopics

Winter 2010 • Volume 16, Issue 1  



Professors receive Putnam, Rothberg awards

On Founder’s Day, the 2009 Putnam Award for Teaching Excellence was awarded to Dr. John Williams (left), associate professor of history. Dr. Williams holds a Ph.D. from the University of Michigan and has been at Bradley since 1997. DR. LARRY WEINZIMMER ’83 MBA ’85 (right) received the Samuel Rothberg Professional Excellence Award. The professor of management has been teaching at Bradley since 1993. He holds a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee.

The Charles M. Putnam Award began in 1957. The Rothberg Award has been given every year since 1973.


Faculty honored on Founder’s Day

Two professors were awarded the Caterpillar Inc. New Faculty Award for Scholarship on Founder’s Day. Dr. Alexander Hertich, assistant professor of French, began teaching at Bradley in 2004. Dr. Kerrie Schattler, assistant professor of civil engineering and construction, came to Bradley in 2005. Dr. Timothy Koeltzow, assistant professor of psychology, received the Caterpillar Inc. New Faculty Award for Teaching. He arrived on campus in 2006.

Dr. Alexander Hertich Dr. Kerrie Schattler Dr. Timothy Koeltzow


Francis C. Mergen Award: Top volunteer

SARA RAY O’SHEA ’05 MA ’07 was presented with the Francis C. Mergen Award for Public Service on Founder’s Day in October. The award is given to an outstanding Bradley faculty or staff member by the Central Illinois Bradley Alumni Chapter (CIBAC). Sara is the director of the Lewis J. Burger Center for Student Leadership and Public Service at Bradley. She and her husband PADRAIG O’SHEA ’03 live in Morton.


BUAA honors volunteer with Lydia Moss Bradley award

Although M. PAUL MOORE ’62 (shown at left with President Glasser) traveled far and wide to Switzerland, China, Korea, and South Africa while working for Caterpillar, he never stopped advocating for Bradley University. Most notably, he served as coordinator of the fundraising efforts for Bradley’s Centennial Campaign in Asia.

When Moore returned to Peoria permanently in 1999, he continued his active support of Bradley. He was elected to serve on the boards of the Braves Club, the B-Club, and the Bradley University Alumni Association (BUAA). Moore is the vice president of the B-Club, the former president of BUAA, and serves on BUAA’s alumni center and strategic planning committees, as well as the nominating committee. He represented the BUAA on the search committee that selected Joanne Glasser as the new University president, and he has served on the BU Council and the athletic department’s long-term strategy review committee.

On Founder’s Day, the BUAA commended Moore’s years of dedication and volunteer work by naming him the 2009 Lydia Moss Bradley Award winner.

While attending Bradley on a track and field scholarship, Moore was named most valuable player all four years, and he earned more individual conference championship titles than any other Bradley athlete to date. A member of Theta Chi, he was voted most outstanding athlete in 1961, and in 1963, he was elected to the Bradley Athletics Hall of Fame. Moore then received the Orville Nothdurft Lifetime Achievement Award and was named to the MVC All-Centennial Track and Field Squad in 2008.

Moore and his wife Diane attend nearly every Bradley athletic event, both at home and on the road.